From NIGGERS to NIGGAS


The most controversial English word in history is a marketing tool in Hip Hop, Television and Movies and a normal phrase heard everyday in the black community. Some people say we flipped it and made it positive, some say it’s used with a “A” and not a “ER” makes a huge difference and some people are still offended by that word today as it was in the 50’s.

I for one actually stop using it as much as I did just because I’ve seen how ridiculous it has gotten with the black community. I love Nas and his Nigger album but to see that picture above doesn’t really make me proud to be a black man, it shows how we are holding ourselves back and have no one else to blame for it. What is different from this than Jesse James Hitler salute and memorabilia? Then again, I can be wrong, maybe we are throwing it in the faces of our former slave master as it won’t hurt us anymore and we took it and made millions off of it. Is the “N” word something to be proud of and glorify or should it be put to rest?

This is something that’s been buggin me for some years now and I’m really torn in the middle of the debate going on in the black community. I never use this word as often as I used to. I may have use it only a few times in my blogs because I know it offense people no matter what race your are, saying that word can’t really be justified.  A lot of  my friends use it and I still use it still too just not as often I once was, so don’t take it as I’m a hypocrite, I’m talking to myself as well.  It’s engraved in rap music “Nigga What, Nigga Who” that’s one place I feel it’s needed, because music is art and art sometimes need a harsh reality. Even Eminem expressed hate of his X by calling her a Nigger just to make her feel hurt as he felt and I understand how he use it and why, but black people are hypocrites when it come to the “N” word. I can call you a nutty nigga but whitey better not say Nig or I’m stomping his ass out, you do realize your just justifying racism with racism.

Then you have people who feel the word is beautiful. Calling  someone “My Nigga” is a term of endearment. It’s taking from hate to love as black in general even though the word mean ignorance.  Some people say it’s with an “A” that’s what we use, “ER” is the racist term, C’mon Son! fore real the “A” comes from ghetto black people who can’t get grammar right or “Ebonics” nothing special about that. On top of that, I see black people being racists towards their own, stealing from another and hating a dude cuz what street he stay on, so we racial profiling our own people and say “We hate those Niggas” and is it still  supposed to me a term of endearment?

Now with all that said, I still don’t feel with should get rid of the word. I feel we stop using it as a whole we are putting it on a pedestal, to the point when someone like Mel Gibson says it, it’s a big deal, in reality, it isn’t. Truth is the world is full of racism, that’s just they way it is people and one word won’t change that, can I add Arizona Immigration Law, 2010 and yet racism still, alive and well. I know white people who are racist and don’t even us the N word they use coon and pouch monkey, should we banned them too? This America and we have freedom of speech, so I can’t tell you a damn thing on what to say or not to say. So if your gonna market the word then expect EVERYone to say it or have an opinion on it. I can honestly say this is one I’m stuck in the middle of, please leave your comments and thoughts on this subject matter. I leave you with one of my favorite Nas tracks from the “Nigger” album “Ya’ll My Niggas” and just listen to how he breaks it down so intelligently.

3 thoughts on “From NIGGERS to NIGGAS

    1. The “N” word no matter how its spelled means to insult and make a person of color feel shameful of their self, but at the same time saying the word would remind “people” where it came from. I remember over hearding one guy breaking the word down into a acorym on the train,Saying that the word with “A” means N.ever I.gnorant G.etting G.oals A.ccomplished. For someone to switch the word around into a positive, I mean it would take a smart dude nigga to do that. Really to me it I feel that the word shouldn’t be abolished just because means bad, but to let “people” know we are what we are and a bitch as nigga word isn’t going to make us feel bad.Nas explain it in the song the word has history ever time its said and that you can’t erase this nigga(including himself) from history.

  1. I feel you this if we get rid of it they just can use another word and like Nas say either being disrespected or embrace it’s here and it’s shows our ancestors it can hurt us anymore.

Leave a Reply

